European Museum Forum

Contact us

Council of Europe

Council of Europe Museum Prize 2018

The 2018 Council of Europe Museum Prize – one of the most prestigious awards in the museum industry – has been awarded to the War Childhood Museum as part of the European Museum of the Year Awards.

The Council of Europe Museum Prize has been awarded annually since 1977 to a museum judged to have made a significant contribution to the understanding of European cultural heritage. It involves recognition of the excellence displayed by the winning museums in the approach they take to museum work.

In their announcement, the Council of Europe writes: “The War Childhood Museum, which is deliberately apolitical, aims to fill in an existing gap in documenting war experiences from the child’s perspective and therefore expands its research and collection across Bosnia and Herzegovina, among diaspora living abroad and also globally. The judging panel praised the museum’s real potential to serve as a powerful self-sustained model of civic initiative and said it offered an example that could be replicated in other major conflict and post-conflict zones in the world.”

A judging panel of 13 experts, each from a different European country, awarded the WCM the CoE Museum of the Year out of 40 finalists from 22 countries. WCM will be presented with a bronze statuette, “La femme aux beaux seins” by Joan Miró, which the museum will keep for a year, together with a diploma. The prize will be presented at two ceremonies: first in Strasbourg in April 2018, then in Warsaw in May 2018 during the Annual Assembly of the European Museum Forum.

For all winners since 1977 see underneath

2017: Caribbean Centre of Expressions and Memory of the Slave Trade and Slavery
Guadeloupe (France)

2016: The European Solidarity Centre
Gdańsk, Poland

2015: MUCEM
Marseille, France

2014: Baksı Müzesi
Bayburt, Turkey

2013: Museum of Liverpool
Liverpool, United-Kingdom

2012: Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum
Cologne, Germany

2010: Portimão Museum
Algarve, Portugal

2009: Zeeuws Museum
Middelburg, Netherlands

2008: Svalbard Museum
Longyearbyen, Norway

2007: International Museum of the Reformation
Geneva, Switzerland

2006: Churchill Museum
London, United Kingdom

2005: Museum of Byzantine Culture
Thessaloniki, Greece

2004: Museum of Health Care
Edirne, Turkey

2003: Latenium
Hauterive, Switzerland

2002: Buddenbrookhaus
Lübeck, Germany

2001: Helsinki Theatre Museum
Helsinki, Finland

2000: In Flanders Fields
Ieper/Ypres, Belgium

1999 : Palais des beaux Arts
Lille, France

1998: Museum Centre on Strelka
Krasnoyarsk, Russia

1997: Children's Museum, Tropical Museum
Amsterdam, Netherlands

1996: MAK-Austrian Museum of Applied Arts
Vienna, Austria

1995: House of History of the Federal Republic of Germany
Bonn, Germany

1994: Provincial Museum of Lapland
Rovaniemi, Finland

1993: Kobarid Museum
Kobarid, Slovenia
1993: Archaeological Museum of Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey

1992: Argenta Marsh Museum
Argenta, Italy

1991: German Salt Museum
Lüneburg, Germany

1990: Manuel da Maia Museum of Water
Lisbon, Portugal

1989: Jewish Historical Museum
Amsterdam, Netherlands

1988: The Bavarian National Museum
Munich, Germany

1988: Museum of the Convent of Descalzas Reales
Madrid, Spain

1987: Heimatmuseum-Neukölln Museum
Berlin, Germany

1984: Living Museum of the Canal du Centre
Thieu, Belgium

1984: The Boat Museum
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom

1983: Joanneum - The Provincial Museum of Styria
Graz, Austria

1982: Åland Museum
Mariehamn, Finland

1981: Music Museum
Stockholm, Sweden

1980: Monaghan County Museum
Monaghan, Ireland

1979: Municipal Museum
Rüsselsheim, Germany

1978: Bryggens Museum
Bergen, Norway

1977: Joan Miró Foundation
Barcelona, Spain

For more information click the link below: