European Museum Forum

Contact us

The Awards

The EMF Jury is looking for enterprise and innovation that enhances the public quality of the museum. The judges seek to identify new developments which are likely to have a significant influence in the national and international museum field.

The European Museum of the Year Award

This award goes to a museum which contributes most directly to attracting audiences and satisfying its visitors with unique atmosphere, imaginative interpretation and presentation, a creative approach to education and social responsibility. Past winners have been both large and small museums, but all developed something which was special and changed the standards of quality in museums within Europe.

The Council of Europe Museum Prize

This prestigious prize is awarded based on the recommendations of the EMYA Judging Panel, by the Committee on Culture, Science and Education of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe to a museum which puts particular emphasis on a clearly understandable presentation of a European perspective and of the interplay between local and European identities, working with themes of European relevance and adhering to key values and priorities of democracy, human rights, tolerance and inter-cultural dialogue, of bridging cultures and overcoming social and political borders.

The Kenneth Hudson Award

This is an award in honour of the founder of EMYA. The award goes to a museum, person, project or a group of people who have demonstrated the most unusual, daring and, perhaps, controversial achievement that challenges common perceptions of the role of museum in the society and carries forward the spirit of Kenneth Hudson. The Kenneth Hudson Award winner is chosen by the EMF Board of Trustees, and is not necessarily selected from the pool of the EMYA applicants.

The Silletto Prize

This prize is sponsored by the Silletto Foundation based in the Isle of Man and goes to a museum which has in the past three years demonstrated excellence in involving its local community in planning and developing museum and heritage projects or has attracted outstanding support from its work with volunteers with the goal to enhance the public quality of the museum.

The Portimão Museum Prize – Europe’s Most Welcoming Museum

One of people’s deepest intuitions is to know whether they are welcome. The main quality the Prize celebrates is a general, friendly atmosphere of welcome, so that all visitors, no matter what their background, feel they belong in the museum.  All elements of the museum – its human qualities and physical environment – contribute to the feeling of welcome, as do events and activities in and around the museum.
This prize is sponsored by the Municipality of Portimao, Portugal. Portimão is committed to democratic access to culture (reflected in the Council of Europe Museum Prize being awarded to Portimão Museum in 2010) and welcomes hundreds of thousands of tourists every year.


This award goes to a museum which demonstrates an exceptional commitment to sustainability in how it operates and/or how it presents issues of sustainability in its displays and programmes.  This award is sponsored by MEYVAERT.

Special Commendations

A number of special awards will also be given to museums that have developed a new and innovative aspect of their public service and from which other European museums can learn.