Editions / Winners / The European Museum of the Year Award /

As the museum sectors expand across Europe, and as the value and meaning of culture for citizenship, political empowerment and general wellbeing are increasingly recognized, the quality of each museum and its contributions to its society and communities becomes correspondingly significant. The European Museum of the Year Award has been given out every year since 1977, and represents the best in innovation and excellence, in new or redeveloped museums, across disciplines and scale, funding and obligations, and across the various cultural contexts of Europe.

The EMYA goes to a museum which contributes profoundly to our understanding of the world as well as to the development of new paradigms and professional standards in museums. Within a distinctive overall atmosphere, the winning museum shows creative and imaginative approaches to the production of knowledge, to interpretation, presentation and social responsibility - all from a transparent base of core values of democracy, human rights, and inter-cultural dialogue, a commitment to sustainability, a practice of inclusion and community participation, and a recognition of conflicts and the courage needed to confront them.


down-arrow up-arrow

2024 - Sámi Museum Siida, Inari, Finland

Sámi Museum Siida
For more information:
Winners’ Brochure 2024

down-arrow up-arrow

2023 - L'Etno, Valencian Museum of Ethnology (Valencia, Spain)

Permanent exhibition “Not Easy to be Valencian”. The City: Global and Local. Tower of electrical appliances. Author: Hector Juan © L’ETNO

For more information:
EMYA2023 Winners Brochure

down-arrow up-arrow

2022 - Museum of the Mind | Dolhuys (Haarlem, Netherlands)

Museum of the Mind, EMYA2022 Winner, Haarlem, Netherlands
For more information:
EMYA2022 Winners Brochure

down-arrow up-arrow

2021 - Naturalis Biodiversity Center (Leiden, Netherlands)

Naturalis Biodiversity Center, EMYA2021 Winner © Neutelings Riedijk Architects
Read more

down-arrow up-arrow

2020 - Stapferhaus (Lenzburg, Switzerland)

© Stapferhaus / Oliver Lang
Stapferhaus, EMYA2020 Winner, is a house for everyone: young and old, those on the right and on the left, experts and laypeople – men and women, and everyone in between and beyond.

Read more: COMING SOON