Editions / Winners / The Council of Europe Museum Prize /

Within the rich economic, social and cultural diversity of its 46 member states, the Council of Europe focuses on safeguarding and promoting human rights, democracy and the rule of law. The Council of Europe Museum Prize has been awarded annually since 1977, by the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, based on the recommendations of the EMYA jury.

The Council of Europe Museum Prize is awarded to a museum that has contributed significantly to upholding human rights and democratic citizenship, to broadening knowledge and understanding of contemporary societal issues, and to bridging cultures by encouraging inter-cultural dialogue or overcoming social and political borders. The Prize aims to highlight Europe’s diverse cultural heritage and the interplay between local and European identities.


down-arrow up-arrow

2024 - Sybir Memorial Museum (Białystok, Poland)

down-arrow up-arrow

2023 - The Workers Museum (Copenhagen, Denmark)

© The Workers Museum / Photo by Søren Hytting
The Workers Museum, 2023 Winner of the Council of Europe Museum Prize
Assembly hall: The main assembly hall is the heart of the Workers' Assembly building from 1879 and is now completely renovated.

For more information:
EMYA2023 Winners Brochure
read more

down-arrow up-arrow

2022 - Nano Nagle Place (Cork, Ireland)

Nano Nagle Place, 2022 Winner of the Council of Europe Museum Prize.

For more information: