European Museum Forum

Contact us

EMYA2021: apply now!

Applications for EMYA 2021:
Competition Deadline extended – Latest response to Coronavirus

European Museum of the Year Award 2021 to Go Ahead – Application Deadline Extended
As many countries in Europe start to leave lockdown and to open up museums, the EMF has decided to go ahead with the competition for EMYA 2021. The awards date back to 1977 and are an important part of Europe’s heritage. Recognising museums for their achievements in innovation and public quality seems more relevant than ever.  Given the difficulties being experienced by museums, we will extend the application deadline to 1 August 2020 (for the application form – support material can follow). If for any reason it still proves impossible to run the competition this year, all applications will remain valid until it becomes viable.

Suay Aksoy, President of ICOM said:

"ICOM is delighted to support EMYA and its commitment to furthering the quest of museums to serve communities locally and globally in ever innovative ways."

Jette Sandahl, Chair of the European Museum Forum said:

"As an inter- and transnational organization EMYA faces particular challenges in the current situation. But as museums have to invent new practices to welcome people safely to the museum, EMYA will likewise be flexible in how we organize the judging process and adapt to the particular situation in different countries in this special year."

Mark O’Neill, Chair of the EMYA Jury said:

"The awards we confer recognise the contribution museums make to society.  At this time of heightened need across all sections of society, we are determined to celebrate museums which are committed to excellence in their human values as well in how they deliver public quality."

For further information contact:


To apply please complete the Application Form: click here.

Or download and fill in this Application Form:  EMYA2021_ApplicationForm
Once completed, please send the form and the materials requested (see the Guidelines and the FAQs) to

Contact for further information.


Applications for the European Museum of the Year Award Now open

The European Museum of the Year Award is the continent’s oldest and most prestigious museum prize. 

EMYA is overseen by the European Museum Forum which, since 1977, has been dedicated to promoting innovation and excellence in public quality in museums, encouraging networking and exchange of ideas and best practices within the sector.  EMF/EMYA works within an overall framework of a commitment to citizenship, democracy and human rights, to sustainability, to bridging cultures and social and political borders. 

For a full list of previous winners see

The focus of EMYA is on innovation in public quality which is something that can be achieved by museums no matter what their size, location or collection – museums of every type are encouraged to apply.  Over the years, EMYA and the Council of Europe Museum Prize have evolved into a more differentiated scheme adding four more awards: The Silletto Prize, the Kenneth Hudson Award, the Portimao Prize and the Meyvaert Museum Prize for Sustainability. The different awards represent and emphasize different aspects of the EMF’s underlying values. 

The EMYA annual conference and award ceremony takes place over three days, usually in May the year after application, and is a unique opportunity to get an overview of museum creativity right across Europe and to network with those leading these innovations.