European Museum Forum

Contact us

EMYA2020 - EMYA2021

Thursday May 6th, 2021 at 17:00 CET is the date for the announcement and celebration of the EMYA2020 and the EMYA2021 winners.

Organised by the European Museum Forum and hosted by the Yeltsin Center, Russia, the European Museum of the Year Awards 2020 and 2021 will take place as a public, online event with all the 88 nominated museums (61 EMYA2020 and 27 EMYA2021 nominees) – a pale substitute for our traditional, rich and intense annual conference and award ceremony. But please, do explore candidates’ own video presentations on the EMF YouTube platform. While we cannot physically meet, exchange and celebrate in the ways we usually do, the candidate museums for EMYA2020 and EMYA2021 are as interesting and innovative as every year, their accomplishments as impressive as every year, and their efforts should be no less appreciated.


2020 Winner of the Council of Europe Museum Prize
The Gulag History Museum (Moscow, Russian Federation)
2021 Winner of the Council of Europe Museum Prize
The National Museum of Secret Surveillance “House of Leaves” (Tirana, Albania)

The 2020 and 2021 winners in other categories will be announced at the EMYA2020 and EMYA2021 Ceremony. As this will be the first time the candidates of two consecutive years are awarded, the winners will host their statuettes for a 6 month period. The EMYA2020 winners will host the EMYA statuettes from May 2021 to November 2021. Then, the statuettes will be transferred to the EMYA2021 winners, who will host them from November 2021 to May 2022. 

The Programme of the Ceremony and further details can be found on our EMYA2020 and EMYA2021 Ceremony page. 

You can see the nominnees for EMYA2020 and EMYA2021 through the following pages: EMYA2020 / EMYA2021

Please stay tuned for more information on this online award ceremony.


The European Museum of the Year Award and the series of related awards are given out each year at the annual conference and award ceremony.

The rigorous judging process involving visits to up to 60 museums culminates in an annual conference with the participation of 250 - 300 leading museum professionals, at which the candidates present their museums, the winners are announced, and the underlying values and innovative ideas in the European museum field are discussed, renewed and reinterpreted.

With EMYA’s accumulated 40 years of traditions and insights into the societal and community needs, which drive, create, develop and sustain museums as crucial civic spaces for the exploration of Europe’s heritage, the conference serves as a continuous benchmark for innovation and best practices for the sector.